A Woman's World

Confession: I’m Addicted

Posted on: August 22, 2010

Have you ever had a hobby you can’t wait to do everyday?  Well, you’ll probably laugh because this isn’t really a hobby for me but an addiction.  To what you may ask?  Well, have you ever heard of the famous simulation game called The Sims?  If you haven’t, I’m seriously going to need you to go on Google right now and do your research.

Confession: I’m addicted to this game and [addicted is an understatement].

When this game first came out in 2000, I didn’t know what it was.  I just saw it in Toys R. Us one day and thought it looked interesting.  I was even able to hide the “Teens Only” rating long enough to get it home and install it onto my computer.  After that, I fell in love.  I couldn’t get enough of it.  I played it everyday, ALL DAY.  And then, they came out with The Sims 2.

Now, let me just fill you in on something.  The Sims 2 was a HUGE step-up from its original.  In the first version, you could do pretty much everything [or so I thought].  Build houses, create people, that looked like you or someone you knew, have babies, go shopping… and then when the second version came out, they had taken all of that to a whole new level.

Now, your sims not only had babies, but they were PREGNANT and they can even adopt.  Anddddddddd, the child wasn’t the same age for the rest of their life, they actually went through aging… from infant to toddler, to child, to teenager, to young adult [in college!!], to adult, to elder, and then the grim reaper came. -_-  The game is so much fun though, and so addicting.  The only complaint I have though is that it takes so much energy out of your computer.  It messed up my last laptop twice, and so I didn’t even bother installing it on my new one, which has been a HUGE setback for someone like me because I’m going through Sims withdrawal.

And then to make matters worse, they just came out with The Sims 3.  Now, your sims can travel to school and to work, and basically do EVERYTHING that actual humans can do.  Oh, and did I mention that they actually have real-life careers?  Like an astronaut or a lawyer or a doctor?  *Sigh*

I do have to applaud the creators though.  They took a simulations game and turned it into a phenomenon.  And then they released the expansion packs to go along with the original games.  Now, your sims could start their own businesses, go on vacations, go out to the club, go to college, buy a pet, get an apartment… anything!

I, honestly, could go on and on about this game all day.  I love it that much.

So bloggers/readers, is there any suggestions you could give me to relieve myself of this torture?  I spoke to a friend who told me that The Sims: Life Stories was a promising game for laptops, and she recommended I get that one.  Do you have any other suggestions?  Or maybe, you’re just as much in love with the game as I am.  Share your stories!  I love finding other people who love The Sims.

Leave a comment

Must Be Interesting

  • 17,585 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers