A Woman's World

Roommates 101

Posted on: August 25, 2010

I heard all the roommate stories before I started college.  The majority of them weren’t even that bad, and being as though I had been staying in a dorm since my junior year in high school, I kind of knew what to expect when I started my freshmen year.  I had a few roommates who I didn’t get along with, and I had a few roommates who, still to this day, we are still friends.  I honestly believe, however, that I received the worst possible roommate I could ever have… and after that, I was prepared for everything else.

In most cases, it’s rare to find a roommate and still end up being friends with them after you’ve already lived with them, but it’s not impossible.  Everyone can learn to get along with their roommates, but you must put forth the effort.  You don’t have to be best friends with them, but you have to learn to tolerate them for the sake of, at least, getting through the school year.  Here are some helpful tips I found that may help your roommate experience be a lot less awful.

  1. When you and your roommate find some time, you should both sit down and just talk… get to know each other a little better.  Tell your roommate what you expect from them and what they will expect from you.  Voice your pet peeves and rules you hope that both of you can agree on.  For example, quiet hours, borrowing each other’s things, having friends sleep over, possible chores, etc.  Now, me personally, I don’t really care what my roommate does in her daily life, as long as she’s clean and respectful of my space and study time.  Just find something that the both of you can agree on.
  2. Try your best to stick to your agreement.  Though it isn’t in writing, keep in mind what each of you said.  Because believe me, when one goes against what they said they would do as the roommate duties, it will cause a lot of tension and drama between the two of you, and that is not something you want to exist in your living space.
  3. Be considerate.  If you spilled something, clean it up.  If you just got finished doing your hair, and there’s hair all over the place, sweep it up.  Don’t take things of theirs without permission.  Be quiet when the other one is sleeping.  Small things like these will help things run a lot smoother.
  4. Communicate.  If something is bothering you, let them know.  It’s better to voice your issue with them, instead of walking around with an attitude.  Of course, for some people, this is easier said than done, but like I’ve said before, communication is the key to any successful friendship or relationship.

I know many people only voice their bad experiences with roommates, but it is very possible to have a great experience if each of you are cooperative of the other.  If you need mediation, talk to your resident assistant or resident director… especially for females, because we are a little more dramatic than the guys.  Roommates aren’t anything to be afraid of, and they can be great experiences.  Many times, the bad things that you’re hearing about roommates, is the same stories your roommate is hearing about roommates, so be open-minded.  You never know, the experience may surprise you, and you may end up making a lifelong friend.

Leave a comment

Must Be Interesting

  • 17,585 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers