A Woman's World

Survive Dorm Life: Freshmen Edition

Posted on: August 25, 2010

I figured my next blog should be for the freshmen who are headed to college.  Summer is coming to a close, and everyone is getting ready to head back to school.  However, the freshmen class of 2014 has something to look forward to this year, because they’ll be heading into a new realm of life.  As everyone says, “this will be the time of their life,” where they’ll make long-lasting friendships, pull all-nighters, stay out late, and even meet a new love interest.  But colleges don’t really give you too much scoop on their dorms, do they?  I know when I was going into my freshmen year of college, they didn’t.  I only knew the name of the building and where it was located on campus.  Living on-campus can add a lot to the college experience, and it gives college students the opportunity to live with other people who are coming from all different backgrounds.  Word of advice… expect the best, but prepare for the worst.  Here’s some information I found that may helpful to all of the freshmen out there.

Do your research.  Get informed about what your dorm is all about.  Do they have a logo?  Does each dorm represent something?  Read your student handbook, or at least skim through it [because I know I didn’t read it].  By looking through it, most of your questions will probably be answered.  You can always go on the school’s website as well.

Find out what you’re allowed to bring and what you’re not even allowed to have.  I know at my school, you’re not allowed to have microwaves, hot pots, toasters, refrigerators, etc. in the rooms, and I didn’t have one freshmen year.  However, if you had any type of medical condition, they allowed a refrigerator in the room if absolutely necessary.  But no one ever listened to that, and when I realized they didn’t check the rooms, I had a refrigerator my sophomore year.

View the guidelines.  Are you allowed to hang pictures on your walls with tape?  Are you allowed to have a rug?  Are you allowed to put up a curtain on the window?  All of these questions are important and necessary to ask… especially if you’re one who loves to decorate your room.

I’ve also heard that some colleges allow pets [certain types, of course].  Look into that as well if you have a goldfish or a hamster, or something of the like.  My school NEVER allowed any pets, which I was happy about because I never had to worry about waking up to something crawling in my bed… #imjustsayin… Still, every school is different, so check the policy.

Also, ask what the residence hall guidelines are surrounding smoking.  Many colleges allow smoking on the campus, as long as it’s outside of any buildings on campus.  However, other colleges don’t allow smoking anywhere on campus, so this is always something to check, as well, if you are a smoker.

Keep up with the necessities.  Make sure your keys and your campus I.D. are with you at all times.  If you’re a driver, of course, your driver’s license is a must-have as well.  I say this because I can’t tell you how many times I lost my dorm key and my campus I.D.  And it was to get another one.  So just be responsible.  That’s money that you don’t need to waste.

Use the resources that are available to you.  I know living in a dorm can be the worst experience ever, but there are resources there to assist you in any way.  You have your resident directors, resident assistants, and even the administrative offices to assist you with anything you need, so USE THEM!

Get involved.  Yes, at most schools, freshmen can help out around the dorm, and no, I don’t mean with cleaning.  Many times, dorms need extra people besides the people they are paying to help out in the office or with the paperwork.  So get involved.  It’s all volunteer work, but not only are you getting experience… you’re also getting community service hours.

Know your school’s calendar.  Every school is different so every school’s calendar is going to be different as well.  Make note of important dates like Thanksgiving break and spring break, so you can schedule your travel plans around them.  Also, make note of when your mid-terms and final exams are because it is NEVER good to miss one of those.

Keep an open mind.  You’re not always going to be put in a situation that you like.  And you won’t always get that roommate that you like… but keep an open mind through it all.  The best part about on campus life is that you can get closer to the people you live around.  Make the experience fun.

Once you’ve moved in to your dorm, it will eventually turn into home because you’ll be there for nine months.  So enjoy it because it won’t last forever.  Soon, you’ll be paying your OWN bills and living the luxurious life in an apartment.

Leave a comment

Must Be Interesting

  • 17,585 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers